Craig’s literary debut was the novel 600 Hours of Edward. It was was a 2009 Montana Honor Book and the 2010 High Plains Book Award winner in the first-book category. Subsequent years have brought six additional novels and a collection of short stories. Here they are, at a glance:

Julep Street

Carson McCullough has given his career to a singular pursuit—putting out a small daily newspaper that keeps his employees engaged and his hometown informed. But as time and technology conspire against him, Carson’s Argus-Dispatch is shuttered by an owner with a different view of its future.

Stung by the abrupt end of his career and burdened by regret and grudges, Carson and his one true companion, a yellow Lab named Hector, set out on a road trip. As the miles pile up and Carson erratically drives into the residue of past decisions and the consequences of current actions, he confronts questions of love, faith, self-worth, and, perhaps most pressing, whether he can redefine himself after his identity is stripped away.

In his seventh novel, Craig Lancaster (600 Hours of Edward, The Fallow Season of Hugo Hunter) returns to the broad themes of his award-winning work and goes deeper yet, straight into the heart and mind of a good man who has lost his way and is struggling against himself to set things right.

Pages: 236

Publisher: Missouri Breaks Press


ISBN-10: 0982782241 (paperback), 0998630500 (hardcover)

ISBN-13: 978-0982782248 (paperback), 978-0-9986305-0-2 (hardcover)

Release date: May 9, 2017

Formats: Hardcover, paperback, Kindle, audiobook. Want a signed hardcover? Pre-order here.

For more about the book, visit its page or download the media kit.

To read an excerpt of Julep Street, click here.

Edward Unspooled

Change keeps stalking Edward Stanton. He and his new wife, Sheila, have retreated to his small house in Montana after an unsuccessful attempt at operating a motel in Colorado. That failure has left wounds, especially for Sheila, and now they face a bigger challenge: pregnancy and impending parenthood.

Edward begins penning notes to the child (ever precise, he refers to the gestating being as “Cellular Stanton”) as he navigates married life with Sheila, who is unhappy and unfulfilled in Montana; a work partnership with his friend Scott Shamwell, whose own life is teetering; and the emergence of a long-buried family secret and the effect of this revelation on his relationship with his overbearing mother.

Even as Edward’s world expands, he must confront questions about whom to let in, how much to give, the very definition of family, the fragility of hope, and the expanses of love.

Pages: 286

Publisher: Missouri Breaks Press

ISBN-10: 0-9827822-8-4

ISBN-13: 978-0-9827822-8-6

Release date: July 23, 2016

Available formats: Paperback, Kindle, audiobook

For more about the book, visit its page or download the media kit.

This is What I Want

In the sweltering heat of a Montana July, the small town of Grandview readies for its annual Jamboree. The event is meant to celebrate community, but this year tensions boil over, threatening to tear the town, and a family, apart.

Sam Kelvig, a third-generation resident, will do just about anything to protect Grandview from the influx of new oil money and the strangers chasing it. Meanwhile, his restless wife, Patricia, wearies of the constraints of marriage to a man who is so tied to his community; Sam’s estranged son, Norby, has reluctantly returned home despite the family’s struggle with accepting his sexuality; Henrik, Sam’s volatile brother, is looking for any easy opportunity; and Blanche, the family matriarch, only wants a bit of peace before she dies. As Jamboree goes into full swing, the disputes and desires of the Kelvigs—and their friends and neighbors—collide, fueled by both longtime resentments and an irrepressible hope to preserve their family and hometown.

Pages: 351

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

ISBN-10: 1503945111

ISBN-13: 978-1503945111

Available formats: Paperback, Kindle, audiobook.

For more about the book, visit its page or download the media kit.

The Fallow Season of Hugo Hunter

Hugo Hunter is a thirty-seven-year-old, broken-down boxer who once had big dreams. Mark Westerly is the sportswriter who has covered him for twenty years, all the way back to a starring turn in the 1992 Olympics, and has had his own share of troubles. As Hugo hits the ropes again, this time for good, Westerly reaches out to save him—and, just maybe, himself. A gritty novel of two flawed men trying to find their way back.

Pages: 298

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

ISBN-10: 1477825444

ISBN-13: 978-1477825440

Available formats: Paperback, Kindle, audiobook. You can also buy a signed copy at Craig’s store.

For more about the book, visit its page or download the media kit.


600 Hours of Edward

Now published by Lake Union Publishing of Seattle, the book has been a best-seller in the United States, England, and Germany and continues to gather fans. It tells the story of Edward Stanton, a middle-aged man with Asperger’s syndrome, and a remarkable twenty-five day stretch of his life in which his sheltered existence is threatened and new possibilities emerge, if only he can reach out and grab them.

Pages: 338

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (released August 14, 2012)

ISBN-10: 1612184103

ISBN-13: 978-1612184104

Available formats: Paperback, Kindle, audiobook. You can also buy a signed copy at Craig’s store.

For more about the book, visit its page or download the 600 Hours of Edward media kit.


The Summer Son

new summer son for websiteCraig’s second novel, originally released by Lake Union Publishing, was a 2010 fiction finalist in the Utah Book Awards. The story of a son, Mitch Quillen, who has endured a thirty-year estrangement from his violent father, Jim, and sets out to make things right. Old wounds are opened and secrets are unearthed in a narrative that moves back and forth between present day and the harrowing summer that drove the two apart.

Pages: 316

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (released January 25, 2011); 2nd edition by Missouri Breaks Press

ISBN-10 (paperback): 0998630519

ISBN-13 (paperback): 978-0998630519

ISBN-10 (hardcover): 0998630527

ISBN-13 (hardcover): 978-0998630526

Available formats: Hardcover, paperback, e-book, audiobook. You can also buy a signed copy at Craig’s store.

For more about the book, visit its page or download the The Summer Son media kit.


Edward Adrift

The follow-up to 600 Hours of Edward, this novel revisits Edward Stanton three years after the end of the previous book and finds him in a scattered state. When he learns that his young friend Kyle is in trouble, Edward sets out on a road trip that carries him to some unexpected places—and might just deliver him to the doorstep of love.

Pages: 320

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (released April 9, 2013)

ISBN-10: 1611099056

ISBN-13: 978-1611099058

Available formats: Paperback, Kindle, audiobook. You can also buy a signed copy at Craig’s store.

For more about the book, visit its page or download the Edward Adrift media kit.


The Art of Departure

Craig’s debut collection of short fiction contains twelve Montana-set short stories that mine the notion of separation in its many forms—from comfort zones, from ideas, from people, from security, from fears. These stories delve into small towns and big cities, into love and despair, into what drives us and what scares us, peeling back the layers of our humanity with every page. The revised edition includes a selection of even shorter fiction written in 2012-13. This book was a 2012 High Plains Book Award finalist and a 2012 Independent Publisher Book Awards gold medalist.

Pages: 240

Publisher: Missouri Breaks Press (originally released December 6, 2011; new edition September 2016)

ISBN-10: 0-9827822-7-6

ISBN-13: 978-0-9827822-7-9

For more about the book, visit its page or download the Art of Departure media kit.